Everyone can now send invitations! Please read the guidelines. And then send your invitations.

Cameras?

Hey Guys,
Pretty sure there are a couple of Camera guys on here, so here is my situation:
I have a Nikon Coolpix compact(ish) camera. Takes great piccys a lot of the time, and actually takes AA batteries (I like that! :) ), but has some limitations: Sometimes I cant zoom in or out far enough (obviously not for the same picture) and I cant focus the dam thing manually! (grrrrrrrrrrr).

So if I want to get a SLR that will do better, what do I need to look at/ consider/ pay?

The cool pix suggests that the zoom range is 22 - 600 mm (and I have no idea if that includes the 1.5 correction factor thingy that the guy at the shop was talking about with SLR lenses).

I have heard that there is not enough difference between the Cannon and the Nikons, but they all try to sell you Cannon (?!)

Thanks Guys,
Todd

Comments

• Toddus !!
    How much do you want to spend ?
    I'm an expert in photography, so long as it's point and shoot, I get confused with field of depth and aperture settings, Iris. SAE ? remember that one. Don't know what it means but it sounds official.
    One thing to consider is that SLRs can be thought of as 2 parts, body and lens. There is some argument for buying a professional body 2nd hand, they are built to last 4ever, theoretically. Whatever you do don't let the salesman sell you an SLK - that's a car.
    Hope that helps, if you need any relationship advice - you should ask for "Gee Emm".

• hahahaha, Dogs, you're a nutter! :P Good to hear from you!
    Wasn't SAE something to do with how sensitive the film was??
    I was sorta thinking of may be a $K, but I think the best that will get me is like 300mm if I'm lucky(?)
    And yeah John - Nikon Coolpix L810 - "angle of view equivalent to that of 22.5-585 mm lens in 35mm [135] format" (whatever that means in the real world)
    T